Tag: Vote counting

PR vote count over: Which party gets how many seats?

Kathmandu, December 17 The Election Commission says it has completed counting votes under the proportional representation election system. The Commission, however, says it will take few more days to decide which party gets exactly how many seats in the House of Representatives. However, applying the Sainte-Laguë method, which the Commission will use, it can be calculated that […]

Vote counting halted in Gachhadar’s constituency after UML complains of rigging

Dharan, December 11 Vote counting has been halted in Sunsari-3, where Deputy Prime Minister and Nepali Congress leader Bijay Kumar Gachhadar is struggling to make a win against CPN-UML leader Bhagawati Chaudhary. So far, 64,231 votes have been counted. Chaudhary has received 29,326 votes and is closely followed by Gachhadar, who has 29,171 votes so […]

Nepali Congress hopes for better show in phase-II districts

Kathmandu, December 8 The Nepali Congress, which is lagging behind CPN-UML and CPN-Maoist Centre in the ongoing vote count, says it will improve once votes from the districts which held polls in the second phase will be counted. Chief of the party’s Central Election Mobilisation Committee, Bal Krishna Khand, says, “We will make improvements even […]

This poll official in Gorkha continues job even after learning his mom’s death

Gorkha, December 8 As 45 districts of the country were concluding voting on Thursday afternoon, poll officials in Gorkha were preparing to open ballot boxes to begin the counting. Chief Election Officer of the district, Basanta Raj Paudel, was busy making preparations as he was called from his hometown in Pokhara to inform that his […]

Blast targets vehicle carrying ballot papers in Dadeldhura

Dadeldhura, December 8 An unidentified group on Friday planted an explosive targeting a vehicle transporting ballot papers to the district headquarters, in Kainpani, Parshuram Municipality-12 of Dadeldhura district. The vehicle (Ba 1 Jha 5539) sustained minor damages in the incident occurred at around 9:30 am, informs the Jogbuda Area Police Office. All ballot papers, however, […]

Vote count to begin at 10 am in Kathmandu

Kathmandu, December 8 Political parties and poll officials have agreed to begin vote counting of all constituencies in Kathmandu district from 10 am today. A meeting of all party representatives held this morning made the decision. Chief Election Officer Ramesh Raj Pokharel says all candidates have been asked to appoint their agents by 9:30 am […]