Tag: Nepali Congress

Nepali Congress: Rival factions prepare strategies ahead of district presidents’ gathering

Kathmandu, June 18 Nepali Congress President Sher Bahadur Deuba has called a meeting of the party’s Central Working Committee for 4 pm in Hetaunda of Makawanpur district today. The meeting will discuss preparations for the party’s district presidents’ gathering. The gathering will begin in Hetaunda on Tuesday. It will last for three days. Meanwhile, two […]

Nepali Congress warns of leaving House if either Speaker or Deputy doesn’t resign

Kathmandu, June 14 The main opposition party Nepali Congress has warned of leaving the Federal Parliament if either the Speaker or the Deputy Speaker does not resign. The constitution has it that the two top officials of the House of Representatives must belong to different parties. Earlier, the balance was maintained as Speaker Krishna Bahadur […]

Shekhar Koirala accuses govt of heading towards authoritarianism

Biratnagar, June 13 Nepali Congress leader Shekhar Koirala has said that the government is heading towards authoritarianism in the name of development and prosperity in the country. Koirala further accused the government of preparing to take over the state mechanisms. Speaking to journalists at his residence in Biratnagar  today, the opposition leader said, “The incumbent […]

From the Kathmandu Press: Tuesday, June 12, 2018

Broadsheet daily newspapers published from Kathmandu on Tuesday, both English and Nepali, have prioritised different issues on their front pages. The arrest of a notorious gangster Ashok Lama, the market monitoring by Agricultural Development Minister Chakrapani Khanal and a gathering of Nepali Congress leaders have received key priorities today. Reports about few other sociocultural and […]

Nepali Congress: NCP can’t have both Speaker and Deputy Speaker posts

Kathmandu, June 10 The main opposition party, the Nepali Congress, has demanded that either the Speaker or the Deputy Speaker of the House of Representatives tender their resignation. The Nepali Congress says that according to the constitution, people who belong to the same party cannot hold the two key positions in Parliament. NC Chief Whip Pushpa […]

Nepali Congress Parliamentary Party meeting to discuss, give comments on budget

Kathmandu, May 30 The main opposition Nepali Congress has called a meeting of its Parliamentary Party to discuss the annual budget statement for next fiscal year 2018/19 that the government tabled in Parliament on Tuesday. The meeting will take place at 11 am at the Parliamentary Party office in Singhadarbar, according to the party’s Chief […]