Parties led by Madhav Nepal, Mahantha Thakur change names before registration

File: Election Commission - Code of Conduct
File: Election Commission

Kathmandu, August 20

After the Election Commission suggested newly proposed parties cannot add brief modifiers to existing parties names to register new parties, the would-be parties led by Madhav Kumar Nepal and Mahantha Thakur have changed their names.

Earlier, Nepal’s group had proposed CPN-UML-Samajbadi as its name and Thakur’s group had demanded the Janata Samajbadi Party Nepal (JSPN)-Loktantrik as its name.

But, the constitutional body remarked they looked identical to the existing CPN-UML and JSPN. Therefore, they decided to register the parties naming them as the CPN-Ekikrit Samajbadi (Unified Socialist) and the Loktantrik Samajbadi Party (Democratic Socialist Party) respectively, according to the leaders.

Thanks to an ordinance introduced by Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba in order to split the UML, the dissident groups in the UML and the JSPN had decided to part ways.

React to this post


New Old Popular