Oli cabinet reshuffle: Who are new ministers? Who lost jobs?

File: Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli addresses the House of Representatives, asking lawmakers to give him a vote of confidence, in Kathmandu, on Monday, May 10, 2021. Photo: Bikas Shrestha

Kathmandu, June 4

Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli has reshuffled the cabinet on Friday.

He inducted 10 new ministers representing the Mahantha Thakur-led faction of the virtually divided Janata Samajbadi Party Nepal. Likewise, he removed some ministers representing his own CPN-UML. A few other UML leaders have been given important positions in the cabinet.

Deputy Prime Minister Ishwar Pokharel and Foreign Affairs Minister Pradeep Gyawali have been removed. Finance Minister Bishnu Paudel has been promoted to the deputy prime minister. Likewise, UML’s Raghubir Mahaseth has also joined the cabinet as another DPM.

Rajendra Mahato has led the JSPN team as yet another DPM.

The new ministers are expected to take the oath of office and secrecy later this evening.


React to this post

Hot Topics


New Old Popular