Province 1: Leaders who defected Maoist Centre and UML’s rival camp made ministers

File: Sher Dhan Rai

Biratnagar, March 26

Province 1 Chief Minister Sher Dhan Rai has expanded his cabinet on Friday, inducting four leaders who defected either the CPN-Maoist Centre or the CPN-UML’s rival camp to support him of late.

Likewise, he promoted two state ministers as cabinet ministers.

The new ministers will take the oath of office and secrecy at 1 pm on Friday, informs Rai’s press advisor Dhruba Subedi. It is expected that the formal announcement of the cabinet expansion will be made after the swearing-in only.

But, sources close to the chief minister have revealed the following names as the new ministers:

  1. Tanka Angbohang (Formerly with Maoist Centre): Minister for Financial Affairs and Planning
  2. Usha Kala Rai (Formerly with UML rival camp): Minister for Social Development
  3. Kala Ghale (Formerly with UML rival camp): Minister of State for Agriculture
  4. Raj Kumar Ojha (Formerly with UML rival camp): Minister of State for Forests and Environment

Meanwhile, Rai also promoted two ministers of state to the positions of cabinet ministers. They are:

  1. Ram Rana (Formerly with UML rival camp): Minister for Land Management, Agriculture and Cooperatives (Minister of state until now)
  2. Ambir Babu Gurung: (Formerly with UML rival camp): Minister for Physical Development (Minister of state until now)

React to this post


New Old Popular