Nepali Congress turns victorious in Lalitpur Metropolitan City

newly elected Mayor of Lalitpur Metropolitan City, Chiribabu Maharjan (l), with his deputy Geeta Satyal, after announcement of poll results, on Tuesday, May 23, 2017.

Kathmandu, May 24

The Nepali Congress has won positions of mayor and deputy mayor in Lalitpur Metropolitan City as results of local level elections have been announced nine days after the polls.

Chiribabu Maharjan and Geeta Satyal have been elected mayor and deputy mayor of the historic city, according to the results published on Tuesday midnight.

Maharjan received 24,642 votes, 36 more than his closest rival Hari Krishna Byanjankar of the CPN-UML. The CPN-Maoist Centre’s Dinesh Maharjan got 10,661 votes and stood on the third position.

Likewise, Satyal garnered 19,819 votes and defeated Shobha Shakya of the Sajha Party, who was restricted to 14,240 votes.

The Rastriya Prajatantra Party’s Babukaji Thapa, who had also received the support from the UML, secured the third position in the deputy mayoral race with 10,547 votes.

Meanwhile, vote counting is underway in Kathmandu, Bharatpur and Pokhara metropolitan cities.

React to this post


New Old Popular