8 things you should know about the 2022 Nepal election results

As two weeks have been over since voting on November 20, almost all Nepal election results have come out. Even though the results of each constituency are a matter of concern for the public as well as the entire country, some particular trends in the Nepal election results have defined the 2022 polls.

If you have failed to notice those affairs, don’t worry. Onlinekhabar has brought up eight interesting things about the Nepal election results that define the polls of this year in many ways. 

1. Emergence of Rastriya Swatantra Party 

Leaders of Rastriya Swatantra Party 
Leaders of Rastriya Swatantra Party 

Rastriya Swatantra Party (RSP) which was established in June this year got exceptional results in the recently held parliamentary elections. The party secured seven first-past-the-post seats in the House of Representatives whereas it is likely to add 14 more seats from the proportional representation count, which is yet to be finalised by the Election Commission. Many analysts believe if the new Nepal election results favoured any party, it is the RSP.

2. The downfall of capital communists 

Emblem of communist party
Emblem of communist party

In the recently announced Nepal election results, communist parties did not do well in Kathmandu, the capital city district. In fact, they had the worst performance. Among 10 constituencies of the Kathmandu district, only one of them was won by a communist party as Krishna Gopal Shrestha of CPN-UML won the election from Kathmandu 9.

If you talk about the Kathmandu valley, it is three out of 15 constituencies, also including Lalitpur 2 and Bhaktapur 1, respectively won by the UML and Nepal Workers and Peasants Party. The figure is a record low in the history of Nepal election results  

3. Bhaktapur 2’s long tradition

Durlav Thapa
Durlav Thapa

Whereas the Bhaktapur 1 constituency remains an unchallenged stronghold for the NWPP, Bhaktapur 2, since 1994, has a history of not repeating its representatives to the House. The tradition continued this time also as UML’s Mahesh Basnet, infamous for his violence-inciting statements, lost the parliamentary seat to Nepali Congress leader Durlav Thapa.

4. No place for nepotism

L-R: Sujata Koirala, Manushi Yami Bhattarai, Bina Magar and Mohammad Firdosh Alam

The other interesting thing about the Nepal election results this time was the voters did not give much place for nepotism. Many candidates who came from political family backgrounds were defeated in the elections this time. Bina Magar, the daughter-in-law of Pushpa Kamal Dahal; Manushi Yami Bhattarai, the daughter of Baburam Bhattarai and Hisila Yami; Mohammad Firdosh Alam, the son of Mohammad Aftab Alam, and a few others lost the elections. However, some top leaders have managed to bring their closest ones into the parliament as proportional representative candidates.  

5. Change in the Madheshi politics 

CK Raut
CK Raut

Madheshi politics had been controlled by similar and old faces for a long time, but now the region is heralding a change. Two senior Madheshi leaders Upendra Yadav and Rajendra Mahato both have been defeated in the elections. CK Raut and Mahindra Raya Yadav have emerged as new leaders for Madhesh. 

6. Three new national parties

The Nepal election results this time have increased the number of national parties as seven made it to the list. They are Nepali Congress, CPN-UML, CPN-Maoist Centre, Rastriya Swatantra Party, Rastriya Prajatantra Party, Jantaa Samajbadi Party and Janamat Party. Of them, the Swatantra party and Janamat Party are entirely new forces whereas Prajatantra Party promoted itself to the status of a national party. Madhav Kumar Nepal-led CPN-Unified Socialist and Mahantha Thakur-led Loktantrik Samajbadi Party are unlikely to cross the three per cent threshold in the proportional representation count required to get the recognition.

7. The fall of the yesmen 

The Nepal election results this time did not favour the yesmen of the party’s top leaders. The voters ignored the leaders who would support their boss in whatever conditions. Some of the most known yesmen who lost the elections are Dev Gurung of the CPN-Maoist Centre, Shankar Pokhrel, Pradeep Gyawali and Mahesh Basnet of the CPN-UML.

8. Representation of diverse professions 

People with different profession standing in a line --- Image by © Kim Hyemun/TongRo Images/Corbis
People with different profession standing in a line — Image by © Kim Hyemun/TongRo Images/Corbis

The Nepal election results are interesting to look at also because they brought people from diverse professions ranging from doctors (such as Toshima Karki) to scientists (such as CK Raut) and businesspeople (such as Binod Chaudhary) to journalists (such as Surya Thapa).

React to this post


New Old Popular