Madhav Kumar Nepal’s CPN-US, Mahantha Thakur’s LSP registered

L-R: Madhav Kumar Nepal and Mahantha Thakur go to the Election Commission to register new parties, in Kathmandu, on Wednesday, August 18, 2021.

Kathmandu, August 25

The Election Commission on Wednesday approved the registration applications of two new parties–Madhav Kumar Nepal-led CPN-Unified Socialist and Mahantha Thakur-led Loktantrik Samajbadi Party.

The two parties had applied for registration last week after the government introduced an ordinance to ease their splits from the existing KP Sharma Oli-led CPN-UML and Baburam Bhattarai-led Janata Samajbadi Party-Nepal respectively.

Studying the applications, the commission had called both groups on Wednesday to verify that they meet requirements for the party splits as per the new ordinance.

Following the legal recognition of the Madhav Kumar Nepal-led CPN-US, the Sher Bahadur Deuba-led government is expected to get its full shape by incorporating leaders from the coalition partners including the new party.

The UML was on the verge of a split since February this year as Madhav Kumar Nepal was forced to return to the KP Sharma Oli-led party as the Supreme Court reinstated the pre-2018 CPN-UML and CPN-Maoist Centre.

The JSPN, on the other hand, had already virtually split with two factions taking action against each other and calling the commission to recognise one side as the legitimate one. The commission, then, had granted the previous party name and symbol to the Baburam Bhattarai and Upendra Yadav-led group.

React to this post

Hot Topics


New Old Popular