Oli reshuffles cabinet to incorporate ex-Maoist leaders

Newly appointed ministers pose for a photograph after taking the oath of office, in Kathmandu, on Friday, December 25, 2020. Photo: Bikas Shrestha

Kathmandu, December 25

Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli has reshuffled his cabinet on Friday evening, filling the vacancies created by seven ministers’ resignation expressing dissatisfaction with his decision to dissolve the House of Representatives.

He has inducted five ministers from the former Maoist camp who chose the NCP’s Oli side, betraying their former commander Pushpa Kamal Dahal. Besides, he also added three ministers and one state minister from the previous UML camp. In addition, he has changed portfolios of some of the ministers.

The new ministers took the oath of office and secrecy from President Bidya Devi Bhandari this evening.

Major changes made in the reshuffle are as follows:

1. New ministers

  1. Top Bahadur Rayamajhi: Minister for Energy, Water Resources, and Irrigation
  2. Prabhu Sah: Minister for Urban Development
  3. Mani Thapa: Minister for Water Supply and Sanitation
  4. Gauri Shankar Chaudhary: Minister for Labour, Employment, and Social Security
  5. Ganesh Thagunna: Minister for Federal Affairs and General Administration
  6. Prem Bahadur Aale: Minister for Forests and Environment
  7. Juli Kumari Mahato: Minister for Women, Children, and Senior Citizens
  8. Dawa Lama: Minister for Youth and Sports
  9. Bimala Bishwakarma: Minister of State for Industry, Commerce, and Supplies

2. Ministers removed

  1. Jagat Bishwakarma: Minister for Youth and Sports
  2. Moti Lal Dugar: Minister of State for Industry, Commerce and Supplies

3. Ministers with changed portfolios

  1. Bhanu Bhakta Dhakal: From Ministry of Health and Population to Ministry of Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation
  2. Hridayesh Tripathi: From Ministry of Federal Affairs and General Administration to Ministry of Health and Population
  3. Lila Nath Shrestha: From Ministry of Women, Children, and Senior Citizens to Ministry of Law, Justice, and Parliamentary Affairs
  4. Shiva Maya Tumbahangphe: From Ministry of Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs to Ministry of Land Management, Poverty Alleviation and Cooperatives
  5. Padma Kumari Aryal: From Ministry of Land Management to Ministry of Agriculture and Livestock Development
  6. Krishna Gopal Shrestha: From Ministry of Urban Development to Ministry of Education, Science and Technology

React to this post


New Old Popular