6 sentenced to 2 years for assault on Prem Chalaune

Prem Chalaune considered the court as the last option for him to get justice. But the government's actions have effectively obstructed his path to the judiciary.
File Photo

Kathmandu, November 24

The Kathmandu District Court has sentenced six individuals who attacked Tribhuvan University Assistant Professor Prem Chaluane to two years imprisonment.

The bench of Judge Binod Khatiwada, convicted the then President of Nepal Student Union, Hari Prasad Acharya, Secretary Yogendra Rawal, along with Rupesh Shah, Rabin Lama, Sayuj Shrestha, and Niraj Rana Magar, on the charge of attempting to kill the deputy professor.

The court has additionally directed them to pay Rs 2.8 million in compensation to Prem Chalaune.

Accused Deepak Ojha was, however, acquitted. Of the accused, Hari Acharya is presently in the US. The other accused have failed to appear for the court hearing. There is an ongoing case against them for attempted murder.

“It has come late, but I have received justice,” said Chalaune. “I hope no one has to go through this.”

React to this post


New Old Popular