Parliament approves nominations for new ambassadors to India, the US and the UK

L-R: Shankar Sharma, Shreedhar Khatri and Gyan Chandra Acharya
L-R: Shankar Sharma, Shreedhar Khatri and Gyan Chandra Acharya

Kathmandu, December 7

The Parliamentary Hearing Committee in the federal parliament has approved nominations made by the government for appointing new ambassadors to India, the United States and the United Kingdom.

A meeting of the panel representing members of both houses in the parliament on Sunday approved Shankar Sharma as the ambassador to India, Shreedhar Khatri to the US and Gyan Chandra Acharya to the UK. The committee had summoned all three together for the hearing during the meeting yesterday.

A cabinet meeting on October 28 had recommended the names. Nilamber Acharya, Yuba Raj Khatiwada and Lok Darshan Regmi were working as ambassadors in these three countries respectively, but the current Sher Bahadur Deuba-led government had called them back as they were appointed by the previous KP Sharma Oli-led government.

Now, President Bidya Devi Bhandari will appoint Sharma, Khatri and Acharya as new ambassadors after receiving agréments from the host countries.

React to this post


New Old Popular

Subscribe to our newsletter

Subscribe to Onlinekhabar English to get notified of exclusive news stories.