Nepal Communist Party begins merging lower committees

Nepal Communist Party top leaders

Kathmandu, June 4

Newly unified Nepal Communist Party has started forming lower committees including provincial and district organisations. The committees are supposed to be formed within three months.

The party was formed with the merger of then CPN-UML and CPN-Maoist Centre. Now, existing lower committees of the parties will be merged.

As per sources, of the seven provinces, the UML side will lead four provinces whereas the Maoists will lead remaining three provinces.

An informal proposal put forth stated that the then Maoists would be provided the authority to lead 30 of total 77 districts, and the allocation would be done on the basis of public vote, seniority, and need of the districts. A secretariat would also be formed in the districts.

Meanwhile, the party directive stops ministers of federal government, chief ministers of province and chiefs of local levels from beingĀ  chiefs of the executive committees. They, however, can be members.

It is also likely that the chiefs of seven provinces and 35 departments will be chosen by the 45-member Standing Committee.


Published on June 4th, Monday, 2018 4:53 PM

Download Onlinekhabar App. Android click here & IOS click here . Keep in touch with us on Facebook, Twitter & YouTube.

Related News Bhim Rawal demands govt review its performance From the Kathmandu Press: Sunday, June 23, 2019 Cabinet reshuffle on the cards, confirms Dahal

No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Like This