NCP, regional ally sweep National Assembly polls

Narayan Kaji Shrestha after being declared a winner of the National Assembly elections on Thursday, January 23, 2020.

Kathmandu, January 24

The ruling Nepal Communist Party and its Madhesh-centric ally Rastriya Janata Party Nepal have swept the elections held to elect 18 members of the Upper House of the Federal Parliament.

The NCP won 16 positions whereas the RJPN won two in Province 2. Among the winners include NCP’s central spokesperson Narayan Kaji Shrestha, who was defeated in the 2017 House of Representatives election in Gorkha-2.

Other parties could not win any seat as provincial lawmakers and chiefs and deputies of local governments constitute the electorate and there is a clear majority of the ruling party and/or its ally in all provinces.

Here is a list of the winners.

Province Category Winner Party
1 Women Indira Devi Gautam NCP
Dalit Gopi Bahadur Sarki Achhami NCP
Other Devendra Dahal NCP
2 Women Tulasa Kumari Dahal NCP
Dalit Radheshyam Paswan NCP
People with disability/minority groups Shekhar Kumar Singh RJPN
Other Mrigendra Kumar Singh Yadav RJPN
Bagmati Women Ganga Kumari Belbase NCP
Other Bedu Ram Bhusal NCP
Gandaki Women Bhagabati Neupane NCP
Other Narayan Kaji Shrestha NCP
5 Women Bimala Ghimire NCP
People with disability/minority groups Jaga Prasad Sharma NCP


Other Gopal Bhattarai NCP
Karnali Women Sumitra BC NCP
Other Maya Prasad Sharma NCP
Sudurpaschim Women Sharada Devi Bhatta NCP
Other Tara Man Swar NCP



React to this post


New Old Popular