Govt appoints 20 constitutional officials based on the controversial ordinance

File image: President's Office, Sheetal Niwas
File image: President’s Office, Sheetal Niwas

Kathmandu, June 24

President Bidya Devi Bhandari appointed 20 officials in various constitutional commissions on Thursday.

A meeting of the Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli-led Constitutional Council held on May 9 had recommended the names for these positions.

The constitution has it that the officials are appointed after a hearing by the Parliamentary Hearing Special Commission. However, the appointment has been made without the hearing as Oli dissolved the House of Representatives on May 22.

Further, the government had issued an ordinance to facilitate the council meeting amid differences of its members including Speaker Agni Prasad Sapkota and the main opposition leader Sher Bahadur Deuba. Opposition parties and legal experts had opposed the ordinance. Several writ petitions are pending at the Supreme Court against the law.

As per a statement issued by the President’s Office, the following officials have been appointed:

Commission for the Investigation of Abuse of Authority

  1. Hari Paudel, Member
  2. Sumitra Shrestha, Member

Public Service Commission

  1. Madhav Prasad Regmi, Chairperson
  2. Madhav Belbase, Member
  3. Bir Bahadur Rai, Member
  4. Dinesh Silwal, Member
  5. Manju Kumari, Member

Election Commission

  1. Sagun Shamsher JBR, Member

National Natural Resources and Fiscal Commission

  1. Bipin Raj Niraula, Member

National Women’s Commission

  1. Jaya Ghimire, Member
  2. Sabitri Kumari Sharma, Member

National Dalit Commission

  1. Sundar Purkoti, Member

National Inclusive Commission

  1. Ram Krishna Timalsena, Chairperson
  2. Pushpa Raj Timalsina, Member
  3. Man Prasad Khatri, Member

Indigenous Nationalities Commission

  1. Surya Bahadur Gurung

Madhesi Commission

  1. Aabha Kumari, Member

Tharu Commission

  1. Uma Shankar Prasad Chaudhary, Member
  2. Shanti Modi, Member

Muslim Commission

  1. Mohammad Samshul Haq

React to this post


New Old Popular

Subscribe to our newsletter

Subscribe to Onlinekhabar English to get notified of exclusive news stories.