Commission requires NCP and Samajwadi Party to reregister for bypolls

File image: Election Commission of Nepal

Kathmandu, September 2

Members of the ruling coalition, Nepal Communist Party and Samajwadi Party Nepal, both have to reregister at the Election Commission to contest the November byelections, the commission says.

The registration is required as the parties contested the previous elections under different names.

According to the EC, political parties which have registered themselves at the EC before the 2017 elections, however, will not have to reregister for the byelections if their names and election symbols have not changed.

After the 2017 elections, erstwhile CPN-UML and CPN-Maoist Centre had merged to form the NCP. Similarly, Samajwadi Party was formed after the merger of erstwhile Federal Socialist Forum-Nepal and Naya Shakti Party.

Bibeksheel and Sajha parties also have to reregister as they split after the 2017 elections. Likewise, the Rastriya Prajatantra Party-United, merged after the polls, should also get the registration again.

The EC has given the parties a deadline of September 17 for the registration.

According to the commission, 132 political parties are registered in Nepal as of Sunday.

The government is holding the byelections on November 30 for 51 vacant seats of local, provincial and federal representatives.

Published on September 2nd, Monday, 2019 12:46 PM

Download Onlinekhabar App. Android click here & IOS click here . Keep in touch with us on Facebook, Twitter & YouTube.

Related News (Updated) Voting over to elect 18 National Assembly members Silence period begins for National Assembly elections Commission gearing up for National Assembly elections

No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Like This