Bypoll updates: NCP leading in Kaski, NC in Bhaktapur, two parties neck and neck in Dharan

Sealed ballot boxes

Kathmandu, December 1

Whereas the Election Commission has already announced results of the by-elections held in several words of various local units, vote counting is underway in bigger constituencies.

The elections were held in 37 districts of the country to elect 52 people’s representatives at local, provincial and federal levels.

The counting is underway at a snail’s pace in Kaski-2, the only constituency that held the election for a Federal Parliament seat yesterday. Ruling Nepal Communist Party’s Bidya Bhattarai is leading there. As of 8:30 am, Bhattarai has secured 3,200 votes. Her closest rival, Khem Raj Paudel of Nepali Congress, is lagging with 2,115 votes.

Bhattarai’s husband late Rabindra Adhikari had won the 2017 elections there.

However, in Bhaktapur’s provincial constituency 1(A), the ruling party is heading towards a loss if the early patterns are anything to go by. A total of 32,037 votes were cast in this constituency formerly won by the NCP’s candidate. So far, around 20,000 votes have been counted and the Congress party is ahead of the NCP.

Congress candidate Krishna Bhandel has secured 10,315 votes as of 9 am whereas the NCP’s DP Dhakal has received 7,959 votes.

Meanwhile, in Dharan, the only municipality that is electing the mayor, the two parties are in a neck and neck competition. As of 9 am, NCP’s Prakash Rai secured 2,309 votes whereas Congress’ Tilak Rai is behind him by just 17 votes.

In the 2017 polls, the NCP’s Tara Subba was elected to the top position there.

Vote counting of the elections held at the ward level has already been over in most of the places.

Published on December 1st, Sunday, 2019 10:11 AM

Download Onlinekhabar App. Android click here & IOS click here . Keep in touch with us on Facebook, Twitter & YouTube.

Related News NCP directs lower committees to submit bypoll review reports in three days Complete bypoll results out: NCP wins 30 positions, Congress 13 These are declared results of ward-level bypolls

No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Like This