Sher Bahadur Deuba cabinet gets full shape after 3 months. Here’s the full list

Sher Bahadur Deuba speaks in a Parliament meeting.
Sher Bahadur Deuba speaks in a Parliament meeting.

Kathmandu, October 8

Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba has given the full shape to his cabinet after around three months of the formation.

The cabinet expansion was delayed due to different reasons including the legal status of the newly formed CPN-Unified Socialist and a lack of understanding among members of the ruling coalition.

Deuba initially had appointed four ministers and five members of the cabinet including himself had been administered the oath on July 13. Following that, Deuba had appointed one state minister and one cabinet minister, making the cabinet size into seven in total.

But, on Friday, Deuba appointed 16 ministers and two state ministers, making the number 25, the highest allowed by the constitution for the federal cabinet, informs the President’s Office.

Here is the full list of the ministers according to their rank.

1Sher Bahadur DeubaPrime MinisterNepali Congress
2Bal Krishna KhandMinisterHome AffairsNepali Congress
3Gyanendra Bahadur KarkiMinisterCommunications and Information TechnologyNepali Congress
4Pampha BhusalMinisterEnergy, Water Resources and IrrigationCPN-Maoist Centre
5Rajendra Prasad ShresthaMinisterFederal Affairs and General AdministrationJSPN
6Birodh KhatiwadaMinisterHealth and PopulationCPN-Unified Socialist
7Janardan SharmaMinisterFinanceCPN-Maoist Centre
8Minendra Prasad RijalMinisterDefenceNepali Congress
9Uma Kanta ChaudharyMinisterWater SupplyNepali Congress
10Narayan KhadkaMinisterForeign AffairsNepali Congress
11Renu Kumari YadavMinisterPhysical Infrastructure and TransportJSPN
12Prem Bahadur AleMinisterCulture, Tourism and Civil AviationCPN-Unified Socialist
13Dilendra Prasad BaduMinisterLaw, Justice and Parliamentary AffairsNepali Congress
14Devendra PaudelMinisterEducation, Science and TechnologyCPN-Maoist Centre
15Mahindra Raya YadavMinisterAgriculture and Livestock DevelopmentJSPN
16Uma RegmiMinisterWomen, Children and Senior CitizensNepali Congress
17Shashi ShresthaMinisterLand Management, Cooperatives and Poverty AlleviationCPN-Maoist Centre
18Ram Kumari JhakriMinisterUrban DevelopmentCPN-Unified Socialist
19Gajendra Bahadur HamalMinisterIndustry, Commerce and SuppliesNepali Congress (Allegedly, the chief justice’s pick)
20Ram Sahaya Prasad YadavMinisterForest and EnvironmentJSPN
22Krishna Kumar ShresthaMinisterLabour, Employment and Social SecurityCPN-Unified Socialist
22Maheshwar Jung GahatrajMinister Youth and SportsCPN-Maoist Centre
23Umesh ShresthaState MinisterOffice of the Prime MinisterNepali Congress
24Bhawani Prasad KhapungState MinisterHealth and PopulationCPN-Unified Socialist
25Bodhmaya Kumari YadavState MinisterEducation, Science and TechnologyCPN-Maoist Centre

React to this post


New Old Popular