Ruling party finalises names for governors

A meeting of the Nepal Communist Party secretariat

Kathmandu, November 4

The ruling Nepal Communist Party has finalised the list of seven persons which it will forward to the government for the appointment as governors (chiefs) in seven provinces.

The positions are vacant after President Bidya Devi Bhandari sacked the top provincial officials upon a recommendation from the government.

NCP general secretary Bishnu Paudel says Amik Sherchan, Som Nath Adhikari ‘Pyasi’, Tilak Pariyar, Dharma Nath Yadav, Govinda Kalauni, Bishnu Prasain and Sharmila Tripathi have been nominated. The party had called a secretariat meeting to finalise the list.

He says the government or the President will decide provinces for these people.

It is likely that the appointments will be made today itself after the Cabinet meeting formalises the names and forwards it to the head of the state.

React to this post


New Old Popular

Subscribe to our newsletter

Subscribe to Onlinekhabar English to get notified of exclusive news stories.