PM Cup to begin today

File: TU Cricket Ground, Kathmandu
File: TU Cricket Ground, Kathmandu

Kathmandu, January 10

The fifth edition of the Prime Minister’s Cup (PM Cup) is taking place at the Tribhuvan University cricket ground from Monday. The tournament is being organised by the Cricket Association of Nepal with help from the National Sports Council.

The tournament, this year, is going to be a bit different as the organisers have decided to scrap the ODI format and replace it with T20 so that the players prepare for the forthcoming T20 Qualifiers that will be held in Oman in February.

CAN believes that this will be a fair opportunity for all players to get into the team based on merit. Prior to this tournament, Nepal’s head coach, Pubudu Dassanayake, had already called up 30 players for training.

Nepal’s newly-appointed captain, Sandeep Lamichhane, however, will miss the PM Cup as he is currently in Australia taking part in the Big Bash League.

A total of 10 teams will take part in the tournament that will take place in TU Cricket Ground and Mulapani Cricket Ground. The teams have been divided in two groups of five where the top two teams of each group will qualify for the semi-finals.

The final will take place on January 19.

  • Group A – Tribhuvan Army Club, Nepal Police Club, Karnali Province, Province 1 and Sudurpaschim Province
  • Group B – Army Police Force, Lumbini Province, Bagmati Province, Gandaki Province and Province 2

React to this post


New Old Popular