Nepal’s new MPs take oath of office

Kathmandu, March 4

Nepal’s new members of the House of Representatives have taken their oath of office.

The senior-most member of the House Mahanta Thakur administered the oath of office and secrecy to the members of the lower House.

Four MPs: Top Bahadur Raymajhi, Dharmasheela Chapagain, Resham Chaudary and Mahendra Yadav were absent during the ceremony. Chaudhary is in police custody facing murder charges related to the Tikapur violence. Yadav remained absent because he did not want to claim the title of ‘senior-most’ citizen. Another ‘absconding’ MP Nawa Raj Silwal, however, made to the Parliament premises and took his oath.

The MPs who were not present will have to take their oath separately on a later date.

React to this post


New Old Popular