Narayan Dahal elected chairperson of the National Assembly

Narayan Dahal elected
Photo: Chandra Bahadhur Ale

Kathmandu, March 12

Narayan Dahal candidate from the ruling party, CPN Maoist Centre was elected as the Chairperson of the National Assembly on Tuesday.

In the election for the chairperson of the National Assembly, Dahal secured 39 votes while his opponent Yuvaraj Sharma from the Nepali Congress got 17 votes.

Stating that this number is the majority of the current number in the National Assembly, Speaker Urmila Aryal announced that Dahal has been elected as the chairperson of the National Assembly.

Dahal was supported by CPN-UML, Janata Samajwadi Party, and the Unified Socialist Party.

React to this post


New Old Popular