Bimala Ghimire elected as Vice Chairperson of National Assembly

Photo: Chandra Bahadur Ale

Kathmandu, April 10

Bimala Ghimire has been elected as the Vice Chairperson of the National Assembly. Ghimire, a candidate on behalf of the ruling coalition, received 39 votes in the National Assembly elections on Wednesday. Her rival Bishnu Devi Pudasaini of the Nepali Congress got 16 votes.

Ghimire was voted by CPN-UML, CPN-Maoist Centre, CPN-United Socialist Party and Janata Samajwadi Party (JSP). MPs of Congress and Loktantrik Samajbadi Party (LSP) voted for Pudasaini.

Before being elected as the Vice Chairperson of the National Assembly, Ghimire was elected as a member of the National Assembly from Lumbini Province in 2019. Ghimire, who worked in the National Assembly for four years, has only two years remaining.

After 33 years in politics, Ghimire has become Vice President of the National Assembly.

Ghimire has studied up to the School Leaving Certificate and has experience working in the National Representative Council, Party Central School Department and All Nepal Women’s Association.

After being elected as the vice president of the National Assembly, she has to give up her party affiliation.

React to this post


New Old Popular