Election Commission submits election report to president

Election report
Dinesh Kumar Thapaliya submits election report to President Bidya Devi Bhandari.

Kathmandu, December 15

The Election Commission has submitted the election report to President Bidya Devi Bhandari.

Chief Election Commissioner Dinesh Kumar Thapaliya submitted the report to President Bhandari at the President’s Office in Sheetal Niwas on Thursday.

The Commission submitted a report with the election results of both the first-past-the-post (FPTP) and proportional representation (PR) electoral systems to the President.

The elections for the member of the House of Representatives (HoR) and Province Assembly (PA) were held on November 20.

There is a provision that the EC should submit a report with the final results of the FPTP and PR system within seven days of the announcement of the election results to the President.

Through the elections, a total of 825 people’s representatives were elected (275 under the HoR and 550 under the PA).

Women’s participation in the HoR is 33.10 per cent, and 36.36 per cent in the PA.

The EC’s representatives are scheduled to present a report along with the results of PA polls to the chief of all seven provinces on December 17, said the EC.

React to this post


New Old Popular