UML decides constituencies for top leaders


Kathmandu, October 10

The main opposition CPN-UML on Tuesday has decided constituencies from which its top leaders will contest federal and provincial parliamentary elections to be held on November 26 and December 7.

According to the party decision, most of the Standing Committee members will contest for the House of Representatives under the first-past-the-post category.

A meeting of the party’s Standing Committee held in Singhadarbar today also assigned Chairman KP Sharma Oli to coordinate the preparations for elections nation-wide.

A House of Representatives and Provincial Assembly Election Coordination and Mobilisation Committee would be formed under his leadership, according to party’s Secretary Gokarna Bista.


Who will run from where?

  • KP Sharma Oli: Jhapa-5
  • Jhala Nath Khanal: Ilam-1
  • Madhav Kumar Nepal: Kathmandu-2
  • Bamdev Gautam: Bardiya-1
  • Bhim Rawal: Achham-1
  • Ashtalaxmi Shakya: Kathmandu-9
  • Ishwar Pokharel: Kathmandu-5
  • Bishnu Poudel: Rupandehi-3
  • Pradeep Gyawali: Gulmi-1
  • Gokarna Bista: Gulmi-2
  • Yogesh Bhattarai: Taplejung
  • Prithvi Subba Gurung: Lamjung
  • Shankar Pokharel: Dang-2
  • Surendra Pandey: Chitwan-1
  • Chhabilal Bishwakarma: Rupandehi-1
  • Whose constituencies are yet to be fixed: Ghanashyam Bhusal, Subash Nembang
  • Contesting for Provincial Assembly: Bhim Acharya
  • Not contesting under the first-past-the-post category: Yubaraj Gyawali
  • Not contesting election: Mukunda Neupane, Pushpa Kandel, Amrit Bohora, Keshv Badal and Somnath Pyasi



React to this post


New Old Popular

Subscribe to our newsletter

Subscribe to Onlinekhabar English to get notified of exclusive news stories.