The Election Commission allocated election symbols and their order for 12 political parties

Kathmandu, December 17

The Election Commission has allocated election symbols and their order for 12 political parties, that have registered their respective political party for the National Assembly elections to be held on January 25.

The Election Commission informed that Nepali Congress, CPN-UML, CPN-Maoist Center, Janata Samajbadi Party, CPN Unified Socialist, National Democratic Party, Citizen Liberation Party, Nepal Workers and Peasants Party, Janmaat Party, Rastriya Janamorcha, Democratic Socialist Party and Nepal Samajbadi Party have registered their parties for the NA elections.

The fourth largest party in the Parliament, Rastriya Swatantra Party, has not registered its party for the NA elections. The Election Commission had fixed the time for party registration till Friday.

As per Article 86 (3) of the Constitution of Nepal, the term of office of one-third of the NA members is about to expire on March 3, 2024, and there is a legal provision that the election must be organised 35 days before the positions go vacant (January 29, 2024) in line with the National Assembly Member Election Act, 2017.

In the National Assembly elections, the chiefs and their deputies of the local units are eligible for voting.

The term of office of the total 20 NA members (19 elected and one nominated by the government) is expiring on March 3, 2024.

React to this post


New Old Popular