T20I Women’s Quadrangular Series: Nepal win title by beating Hong Kong

T20I Women’s Quadrangular Series
Photo: CAN

Kathmandu, August 26

Nepal have beaten Hong Kong by 13 runs via the DLS method to win the ongoing T20I Women’s Quadrangular Series being held in Malaysia.

Winning the toss and bowling first, Nepal put the Hong Kong batters under huge pressure taking wickets at regular intervals. Captain Kary Chan anchored the innings and took Hong Kong 101 in the allotted 20 overs.

In reply, Nepal yet again lost its opener in the first over but Sita Rana Magar and Indu Barma’s power-hitting took Nepal home in a rain-affected match. Chasing 101, Nepal were off to a flyer scoring 37 runs in 5.3 overs losing on one wicket.

With rain falling hard, Nepal were 13 runs over the par score of 25 and were declared champions as play could not continue.

Of the five matches played in the series, including the final, Nepal won four matches beating Hong Kong twice and Kuwait once. Nepal lost to Malaysia on Friday.

Nepal will now prepare to take part in the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Asia Qualifier which is being held in Malaysia from August 31.

React to this post


New Old Popular