Pokhara Paltan win maiden PPL title

Kathmandu, November 6

Pokhara Paltan have won the first edition of Pokhara Premier League, defeating Chitwan Rhinos by 3 wickets on Tuesday.

Batting first, the Rhinos suffered an early blow when Hari Shankar Shah was stumped in the second over. But their captain Paras Khadkha (51) and opener Anil Kumal Sah (37) helped the team put up a respectable score of 161 for 5.

Pick of the bowlers for the Rhinos were spinner Lalit Rajbanshi and pacer Mohammad Naveed who both took a wicket each at an economy rate of 4.5 in their allotted four overs.

Batting second, the Rhinos suffered regular blows; but Ravi Inder Singh, Mohammad Naveed and captain Sharad Vesawkar steadied the ship. They helped the Paltan beat the Rhinos by three wickets.

Singh who scored 90 runs from 58 balls was declared man of the match for his match winning innings and Sunny Patel from the Rhinos was declared man of the series.

Winners Paltan will receive a cash prize of Rs. 2.7 million along with a trophy whereas runner up Rhinos will receive a cash prize of Rs 1 million.

React to this post


New Old Popular