Bhim Acharya gets awarded as Province 1 CM for supporting Oli in the UML split

File: Bhim Acharya

Biratnagar, August 26

One day after the CPN-UML’s breakaway faction got registered as a separate party, the UML changed its parliamentary party leader in Province 1. As the leader of the party holding a majority of lawmakers gets appointed as the chief minister, Bhim Acharya took the oath of office and secrecy today.

Before this, incumbent Sher Dhan Rai had resigned from the position.

Apparently, the KP Sharma Oli-led UML establishment decided to give the position of the chief minister to Acharya as he decided to remain in the party and not join the Madhav Kumar Nepal-led CPN-Unified Socialist. He was a longtime supporter of Nepal.

In a very similar case, Ashta Laxmi Shakya had been appointed the chief minister of the Bagmati province last week.

Both Acharya and Shakya, however, are not certain about continuing the position until the next elections as they will lose power as soon as some of the lawmakers in the provincial parliamentary party decide to defect the UML to join the new CPN-Unified Socialist.

With the party officially split, both Acharya and Shakya will have to obtain a vote of confidence in the assembly. It is likely that the split will push both of them into a minority.

React to this post


New Old Popular