21 persons proposed (re)establishing CPN-UML. Who are they?

An application submitted by some people to register a new party named CPN-UML, in June 2020.

Kathmandu, July 1

As the ruling Nepal Communist Party is already tense due to differences and disputes among leaders over some crucial issues, yet another concern has appeared to trouble the party. Recently, some people have submitted an application to the Election Commission proposing a new party named Communist Party of Nepal-United Marxist Leninist (CPN-UML).

As this name was taken by the party led by the Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli until it was merged with the then CPN-Maoist Centre in May 2018 to establish the NCP, some leaders in the NCP have now accused Oli, who is under fire for ‘incompetent leadership’, of trying to revive the old party splitting the united one.

However, it has been found that the 21 people submitting the application for the registration of the party are not recognised in national politics.

Onlinekhabar has received some documents attached to the application, according to which the central committee of the proposed party includes the following:

  1. Chairperson: Sandhya Tiwari, Biratnagar, Morang
  2. Vice-chairperson: Bhagawati Khadka, Gelu, Ramechhap
  3. General Secretary: Manish Kumar Upadhyaya, Janakpur, Dhanusha
  4. Province 1 Secretary: Asmita Sunar, Ratapani, Khotang
  5. Province 2 Secretary: Dawa Lama, Sasapur, Sarlahi
  6. Bagmati Secretary: Jaya Ram Raut, Sakhuawa, Rautahat
  7. Gandaki Secretary: Khagendra Prasad Bhusal, Parvat
  8. Province 5 Secretary: Radha Puri, Kerunga, Arghakhanchi
  9. Karnali Secretary: Hira Bahadur Bohora, Pahada, Dolpa
  10. Sudurpaschim Secretary: Tara Devi Shahi, Kapadtola, Bajura


  1. Pawan Bista, Syuchatar, Kathmandu
  2. Nilam Pokharel, Bhadrapur, Jhapa
  3. Kiran Lamichhane, Gothatar, Kathmandu
  4. Umesh Mahato, Sarlahi
  5. Usha Kumari Jha, Mansingh Patti, Dhanusha
  6. Pradeep Raj Giri, Gothatar, Kathmandu
  7. Purnima Tamang, Dapcha, Kavre
  8. Nischal Basnet, Asanpur, Siraha
  9. Sanjeev Bista, Gothatar, Kathmandu
  10. Bimala Karki, Chhaling, Bhaktapur
  11. Bimala Bista Rokka, Syuchatar, Kathmandu

React to this post


New Old Popular