UML split: Oli removes Madhav K Nepal, Jhala Nath Khanal

L-R: Madhav Kumar Nepal and Jhala Nath Khanal

Kathmandu, May 24

It seems the ruling CPN-UML is splitting officially as the KP Sharma Oli leadership decided to remove 11 leaders of the disgruntled faction.

Further, the party establishment has decided to ask clarification from 12 other leaders, and it is expected to be a formality before removing them also.

Earlier on Monday, these 23 members of the dissolved House of Representatives, in partnership with other opposition parties, had filed a petition at the Supreme Court against Prime Minister Oli’s decision of dissolving the House.

Those removed from the party today include two former chiefs of the party and former prime ministers, Madhav Kumar Nepal and Jhala Nath Khanal.

The full list is given below:

  1. Madhav Kumar Nepal
  2. Jhala Nath Khanal
  3. Bhim Rawal
  4. Mukunda Neupane
  5. Ram Kumar Jhakri
  6. Sarala Yadav
  7. Pushpa Karna
  8. Kalila Khatun
  9. Niradevi Jairu
  10. Laxmi Chaudhary
  11. Kalyani Khadka

The party had told them to submit a clarification on why they were involved in activities against the party leadership, but the leaders did not bother to heed that. Therefore, a standing committee meeting of the party decided to remove them from the party’s general membership also, informs Oli’s press advisor Surya Thapa.

Likewise, the party decided to seek clarification from the following 12 leaders:

  1. Ghanashyam Bhusal
  2. Surendra Prasad Pandey
  3. Bhawani Khapung
  4. Yagya Raj Sunuwar
  5. Birodh Khatiwada
  6. Jeevan Ram Shrestha
  7. Krishna Lal Maharjan
  8. Som Prasad Pandey
  9. Metmani Chaudhary
  10. Jhapat Rawal
  11. Deepak Prakash Bhatta
  12. Narayan Khatiwada

Surya Thapa says the party also decided to withdraw the support extended to the Sudurpaschim provincial government.

React to this post


New Old Popular