Supreme Court’s constitutional bench begins hearing of House dissolution petitions

File: Cholendra Shamsher Rana

Kathmandu, May 28

The five-member constitutional bench led by Chief Justice Cholendra Shamsher Rana has begun the hearing of 30 petitions filed against the government’s decision to dissolve the House of Representatives last week.

As in the hearing following the dissolution in December 2020, this time also, the court is expected to give its verdict after some weeks only.

CJ Rana has formed the bench comprising justices Deepak Kumar Karki, Ananda Mohan Bhattarai, Tej Bahadur KC, and Bam Kumar Shrestha for the hearing this time. The December-February bench had comprised CJ Rana and justices Bishwambhar Prasad Shrestha, Anil Kumar Sinha, Sapana Pradhan Malla, and Tej Bahadur KC.

A few advocates pleading for the petitioners today had requested Justice Bam Kumar Shrestha to rescue himself by leaving the bench as he had issued the controversial order in February to reinstate the CPN-UML and the CPN-Maoist Centre into their pre-2018 status.

The hearing will continue on Sunday.

React to this post


New Old Popular

Subscribe to our newsletter

Subscribe to Onlinekhabar English to get notified of exclusive news stories.