5 political parties sign a seven-point agreement to form government

political parties

Kathmandu, March 12

Five political parties in the coalition government have inked a seven-point agreement, pledging to support the Pushpa Kamal Dahal-led government.

The meeting took place at the Prime Minister’s official residence in Baluwatar today also decided to support Narayan Dahal, the candidate for the election of National Assembly (NA) Chair on behalf of the CPN (Maoist Centre).

A meeting attended by the top leadership of five political parties representing in the Federal Parliament decided to promote cooperation to make the government delivery further ‘effective’ and ‘advance’ towards good governance, social justice and prosperity.

The meeting also agreed to proceed ahead with dialogue with other political parties positively over the process to form a new coalition government and promptly conclude the transitional justice issue, the remaining task of the peace process and matters regarding the establishment of a durable peace-based on consensus.

They also agreed to enact the remaining laws required for implementing federalism, make the operation of the three-tier government effective and prepare a common minimum programme among the parties in the government, and come up with government policies and programmes capable of promoting the interests of the nation and democracy.

An understanding has been reached among the political parties to strengthen national independence, sovereignty, and territorial integrity as well as to move ahead towards the path of political stability for socialism-oriented socio-economic development.

The five political parties agreed to move ahead to fulfil people’s aspirations of good governance, development and social justice as well as putting the issues of national interest and concerns in priority.

Similarly, these parties have made an understanding to develop balanced and holistic international relations and to move ahead on the path of prosperity in an effective manner by strengthening federal democratic republic as per the sentiments and spirit of the constitution of Nepal.

Chairperson of CPN (UML), KP Sharma Oli, CPN (Maoist Centre)’s Chair and Prime Minister Dahal, Chairperson of CPN (Unified Socialist), Madhav Kumar Nepal, Chairperson of Rastriya Swatantra Party, Rabi Lamichhane, and Janata Samajbadi Party Nepal chair Upendra Yadav have signed the seven-point agreement.

React to this post

RSS is a government-run national news portal of Nepal.

More From the Author


New Old Popular