Oli, Dahal agree to establish Province 5 capital in Dang

Kathmandu, October 2

With two chairpersons of the ruling Nepal Communist Party, which also commands a comfortable majority in the Province 5 Assembly, agreeing to establish the provincial capital in Bhalubang of Dang, it is almost certain that the assembly will finalise the capital soon.

A meeting between KP Sharma Oli and Pushpa Kamal Dahal on Friday morning decided to name Bhalubang as the capital.

The ruling party was divided over the issue. Whereas its general secretary Bishnu Paudel was advocating for Butwal of Rupandehi as the provincial capital, Province 5 Chief Minister Shankar Pokhrel for Dang.

“But now, Dang has been agreed for the capital, and the ongoing assembly session to finalise it,” a provincial NCP leader says.

Earlier, CM Pokhrel had requested the central leadership of the party to help finalising the name and the capital.

Earlier, Bagmati Provincial Assembly had also decided to name the province as Bagmati and establish the capital in Hetaunda as per the NCP central leaders’ instruction.

React to this post


New Old Popular

Subscribe to our newsletter

Subscribe to Onlinekhabar English to get notified of exclusive news stories.