5 contenders vie for NRNA Presidency at 11th Global Conference in Kathmandu


Kathmandu, October 13

The 11th Global Conference and International General Assembly of the Non-Resident Nepali Association (NRNA) is taking place in Kathmandu from October 17 to 20. The convention coincides with the 20th anniversary of the NRNA.

The conference, which is held every two years, will elect office bearers of the International Coordination Council of the NRNA.

President Ram Chandra Paudel is scheduled to inaugurate the conference on 17 October. The World Knowledge Conference will be organised for two days, October 17 and 18, said the NRNA spokesperson Somnath Sapkota.

A session on the subject of women and youth will also take place during the period. According to the election schedule, online voting will open 24 hours from 19 October. Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal ‘Prachanda’ is slated to conclude the polls on 20 October in the evening.

The NRNA has made arrangements for online voting for the first time. A ‘facial app’ would be used for voting. A link to the app will be sent to all voters 24 hours before voting. After opening the link on electronic devices, voters are allowed to vote after verifying their faces.

For the conference, 59 National Coordination Council elections were held earlier, through which a total of 4,227 international representatives were elected.

Online voting has facilitated representatives across the globe as they can vote online from anywhere across the globe. However, the candidates must visit the convention site to register candidacy.

Likewise, the proposers and seconders must visit the convention site for verification. Arrangements have been made for the representatives visiting the convention site to vote online by placing computers at certain places in the venue, said Sapkota. Around 1,500 candidates and voters are estimated to vote from the conference site.

Five people are racing for the presidential position of the NRNA. The sitting NRNA presidents Badri KC and Rabina Thapa, vice presidents Mahesh Shrestha and RK Sharma and deputy general secretary Binaya Adhikari are in the race.

React to this post


New Old Popular