Deuba likely to form seven-member Cabinet today

Nepali Congress leader Sher Bahadur Deuba after being elected the Prime Minister on Tuesday, June 6, 2017.

Kathmandu, June 7

Newly elected Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba is likely to form a seven-member Cabinet in the first phase today after taking the oath of office and secrecy from the President.

Deuba will induct three members from his own Nepali Congress party and three others from other coalition members including the CPN-Maoit Centre.

From the NC, Gopal Man Shrestha is likely to become the Deputy Prime Minister with the Ministry of Defence portfolio.

Likewise, Gyanendra Bahadur Karki will be made the Minister for Physical Infrastructure and Transport.

Another Cabinet member will be picked from among leaders loyal to ram Chandra Paudel. It is high likely that Mahesh Acharya will be made the Minister for Finance. However, Paudel is yet to send his name to Deuba, according to party sources.

Meanwhile, the CPN-MC has decided to send Krishna Bahadur Mahara as the Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Foreign Affairs to the Deuba Cabinet.

Likewise, Janardan Sharma will be made the Minister for Home Affairs.

Published on June 7th, Wednesday, 2017 12:18 PM

Download Onlinekhabar App. Android click here & IOS click here . Keep in touch with us on Facebook, Twitter & YouTube.

Related News Nepali Congress says district presidents’ gathering will give message of unity Nepali Congress: Rival factions prepare strategies ahead of district presidents’ gathering From the Kathmandu Press: Tuesday, June 12, 2018

No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


You May Like This