46 local governments change their names, headquarters

File image: The Ministry of Federal Affairs and Local Development

Kathmandu, January 25

The Ministry of Federal Affairs and Local Development says as many as 46 local governments across the country have changed either their names, or headquarters or both.

The Local Government Operation Act grants the right to change names and headquarters to the local governments, but the Ministry at the federal level has to endorse the changes.

Total 23 local units have changed their names and 37 have changed their headquarters.

Most of the names have been changed on the basis of their ethnic and cultural identity as well as names of rivers, mountains and other natural resources.

Most of the units to change names and headquarters are in mountainous and hilly regions.

Published on January 25th, Thursday, 2018 10:54 AM

Download Onlinekhabar App. Android click here & IOS click here . Keep in touch with us on Facebook, Twitter & YouTube.

Related News ‘Local govts immediately need 37,000 additional staff for full-fledged functioning’ Tingla locals in Solukhumbu now enjoy the fruit of repeated ‘no vote’ campaign Ministry mulls over using dissolved DDCs’ funds to build offices for local governments

No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


You May Like This