All leaders in Secretariat of Mohan Baidya’s party to contest polls

The first national assembly of Mohan Baidya-led CPN-Revolutionary Maoist, in Pokhara, in October 2017.

Kathmandu, October 13

The Mohan Baidya-led CPN-Revolutionary Maoist has decided that all members of the party’s Secretariat will contest upcoming provincial and federal parliamentary elections.

The party’s national assembly recently concluded in Pokhara of Kaski made the decision, according to party leader Pari Thapa.

The party says it will utilise the elections as an opportunity to advocate against rightist opportunists.

Earlier, the closed session of assembly was halted yesterday due to differences on whether to contest the elections. But top leaders held a separate meeting and decided to join the process, according to the party.

Meanwhile, the party has decided to transform the party organisation into the general secretarial system. It means Baidya will be called the General Secretary of party now onwards.

The assembly formed a 95-member central committee including 77 full and 28 alternative members.

The party also decided to begin conversations with Netra Bikram Chand ‘Biplav’-led CPN Maoist and Mohan Bikram Singh-led CPN-Masal in a bid to unify the parties.

Biplav’s party, however, has already clarified that the party would not be merged with Baidya’s.

Published on October 13th, Friday, 2017 4:25 PM

Download Onlinekhabar App. Android click here & IOS click here . Keep in touch with us on Facebook, Twitter & YouTube.

Related News From the Kathmandu Press: Friday, December 15, 2017 Three of 10 Bibeksheel Sajha parliamentary candidates in Kathmandu fail to save deposit Final FPTP results out from all constituencies

No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Like This